Monthly medal at The Island Golf Course, Nambucca Heads

A MONTHLY medal round sponsored by Nambucca Local Liquor with 109 starters was played at The Island Golf Course on Saturday.

Players would be hard pressed to top Darcy Habgood’s round with a sound 75 playing off plus-2 to win the gross in A grade. Allen O’Brien won the medal for the grade with 80/72, from Richard Firth ( Forster) 82/74. Taking out B grade was Rob Coneybeare 85/69, followed by Peter Morriss. Taking out the gross was Denis Myers (Tocumwal) with an 87.

Best in C grade was Dave Wilson 89/70 with Col Dunne 92/70 to be runner-up.

Others to show good form were Joanna Habgood a nett 71, along with Barrie Nicholson and Chris Tinson. Ball rundown went to nett 77 with just three to collect and they are Mel Gray Thompson (Port Macquarie) Ronald Cook and Bernie Dugdale. Nearest the pins for the round went to Col Wormleaton at 3 and the 13th pizza, Susan Muna at 5, Col Dunne at 7, Seaton Jones (Newcastle) at the 8th, and Mark Blake at the 15th with David Rosser picking up the pro pin.

Play of the day went to Peter Farrell with an eagle three on the par five fourth hole.

Thursday’s competition was a stableford event with 93 starters. Winning A grade was Col Wormleaton with a score of just 34 points with runner-up Jeff Gore (Macksville) 31 points. Col playing off a 10 handicap while Jeff plays off 12.

Presenting for the first time was John McCollom (17 handicap) in B grade with a round of 37 points and the best score for the day. Bryan Ussher (18) was runner-up with 35 points. Winner for C grade was Col Edmonds (21) with 36 points. He was followed in by Andrew MacKinnon (21) 34 points.

Ball rundown went to 30 points and Paul McElhinney, David Ogilvy, Rob Coneybeare, Peter Delaney will all collect. Pins for the round: Greg Smith at 3, Mark Cooney at 5, John McCollom at 7, Warren Fuller at 8, Jeff Gore won the pizza hole, Henny Oldenhove at 15, and Bruce Berry took out the pro pin at 18. Others to have reasonable rounds were Peter Morriss, Chris Thorndike, Ted Beaton and Hans Jansen – all 34 points.

The club has introduced a new putting challenge on the second hole whereby the longest putt going into the hole now receives a Ecomist stubby holder with Chris Thorndike the first winner on Thursday and Trevor Scrivenor (Ballina) taking it out on Saturday.

Forty players faced the starter in the Island Sunday, a mixed 4BBB event this month, sponsored by Gwen and Paul Maxwell. Winning was Peta Giddey and Make Blake from Robyn Jones and Shane Anderson. Both couples had 45-point rounds, the better countback going to Peta and Mark. Picking up the second runners-up was Linne and Joe Street 44 points.

Collecting balls were Geoff and Mary Rees, Betty Stockham and Geoff Wilson, the McCanns Coral and Geoff, Drew Glasson and Lyn Grose. Nearest the pins went to Trevor Peck, Jason Belt and Mary Rees. All enjoyed a sausage sizzle after the game thanks to the McGoldricks and Deidre Byrne.

This Thursday and Saturday we will be playing a medley stableford round each day.

Those intending to play in the Island Challenge 36-hole event on August 25-26 should enter now to avoid missing out as priority will be those who book early.

Also making the news: