Sports wrap for Nambucca Valley and surrounds

New Urunga bowls president Jo Bathgate and the outgoing president Shirley Willis
New Urunga bowls president Jo Bathgate and the outgoing president Shirley Willis


Macksville Women

Thelma Scott reports – there were no bowls last Wednesday due to the weather however we did have our AGM with a very successful lot of  members attending. Our outgoing president Joan Hosking has stood down after three years, doing an outstanding job. Our new president is Carol Turner, our secretary is Gail Griffiths and our new treasurer is Barbara McBride. We also filled all the other positions. Congratulations, ladies.

We will have the semi-final of the Championship Fours next Wednesday so good luck. There will also be social bowls.

Macksville Men

Doug Smith reports – Thursday's jackpot bowls results were decided by the most ends won, and with 14 ends the winners were Brian Fuller, Doug Smith and Ida Down from a pairs game of Brent Liddell and Stuart Garvey with 12 ends. The jackpot is now up to $352 for some lucky team.

The ninth round of the pennants was played on Saturday. In Grade 6 Macksville hosted Kempsey Heights winning the aggregate 71/49 and the points 9/1. With one round to go Grade 6 are assured of playing in the post-sectional play-off Sunday.

Grade 7 travelled to Nambucca Heads with Nambucca winning the aggregate 58/45 and the points 9/1. With that loss Grade 7 will not be to able make the post-sectional play-off. The nominations for the club championship triples close this week. 

Nambucca Heads Women

Pat Smith reports – last week we elected our committee for 2018-19. President is Pam James, vice-presidents are Jan Brown and Bryony Brownlie. Secretary Lyn Hartmann, treasurer Yani Mitchell. Operational: Arlene Duffus. Committee Maria Fischer, Joan Haig, Jean Schneider. Match committee Elaine Fleming , Bev Jones, Kerry Dale. Chairperson Elaine Fleming. Selection committee Hermine Franck, Pat Smith, Margaret Dwarte, Corrin Nouws. Chairperson Margaret Dwarte. Social committee Moira Blair, Janice Cedelland, Kerry Dale, Alma Reid. Delegates Bryony Brownlie and Lyn Hartmann. Appoinments: Publicity Pat Smith. Welfare Margaret Lawrence.

Results Social Bowls July 3 winners Hermie Franck and Lyn Hartmann. Runners-up Joan Haig, Alma Reid, Gemma DeNatalie. Thursday Minor Singles semi-final Margaret Lawrence def Hermie Frank, Moira Blair def. Janice Cedelland. 

Nambucca Heads Men

Fred Pope reports – Friday’s Nominated Men’s Triples attracted 66 bowlers. The $15 first prize winners were Harry Rauchenburger, Cec Smith and Don Ireland. Second place $10 winners were Mike Ryan, Roger McGuigan and Jack Phillips. Third place $10 prize winners were Maurie Roberts, Bill Miernik and Syd Campton. The lucky losers’ $10 prize went to Terry Harvey, Terry Snowden and Fred Pope. The $15 lucky bowler was Jack Phillips. 

Pennant results from Saturday. Grade 3 Lost. 1 point. Prog 51 points, 2nd place. Grade 5. Won. 9.5 points. Prog 48 points, 3rd place. Grade 7. Won. 9 points. Prog 49 points, 3rd place.

Scotts Head Men

Gary Bishop reports – on the weekend we travelled to Nambucca Heads for pennants and failed to repeat our performance from the previous week, going down 9.5-0.5. 

Urunga Women

Pat Chapman reports – Jo Bathgate has been elected as the incoming president of Urunga Women’s Bowling Club, succeeding retiring president, Shirley Willis. The other members of the management committee are Helen Fisher (vice-president), Lynne Tarrant (secretary), Jean Dew (treasurer), Helen Hoffman (chair of Match),  Selection Committee Kath McPhail (chair), Elaine Cameron, Isabel Pettit, Social Committee Noela McCabe (chair), Ros Hancock, Faye Partridge, Margaret Safe, delegate to MNCDWBA Jo Bathgate. Pat Chapman was invited to continue as publicity officer.

Urunga bowls president Jo Bathgate receives a Certificate of Appreciation from Bev Cloake

Urunga bowls president Jo Bathgate receives a Certificate of Appreciation from Bev Cloake

Each year the Urunga women bowlers support a charity and this year it was the Lung Foundation of Australia. President Jo received a Certificate of Appreciation from Bev Cloake for the club's donation of $500 towards the Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis Program.

Congratulations to the following Urunga bowlers on their selection as District players for 2018: Helen Hoffman, Lorraine Carlon, Ros Hancock, Elaine Cameron, Jo Bathgate, Lynne Tarrant and Kath McPhail. Reserves: Colleen Katen, Isabel Pettit, Janine Brown, Faye Partridge.



Julee Townsend reports – on Saturday we had the Stroke Monthly Medal. Winner: J Conclaves 68, runner-up J Armes 69. Front nine G Johnston, back nine K Wilson. Nearest to the pin: 2nd/11th J Armes, 8th/17th J Armes. Longest putt 4th/13th T Simpson, 8th/16th P LeCerf. Balls: K Wilson, J Welsh, G Patterson and T Simpson.

Mid North Coast Veterans

Colin Cutt reports – on Tuesday, July 3, 50 golfers competed at Coffs Harbour in wet conditions, with 30 hardy souls finishing. Winner: John Plummer 39, 1st runner-up Wendy Johnstone 36, 2nd runner-up Jack Partridge 35, 3rd runner-up Paul Bonventi 34.


Macksville Ex-Services Snooker and Billiards Club

Mick Burke reports – on Sunday the winner was John Bartley, runner-up Craig Pickvance. Highest break Craig Pickvance 40.

Thanks to Mel and Bill for doing the raffle. Welcome to our three new members: Chris, Mike and Brendan. Come along on a Sunday morning for a fun game of snooker. Names in by about 10.30 and we start about 11am.


Nambucca Valley Bridge Club

Noel Howard reports – Monday July 2, 22 players.

N/S: Stephen and Amber Fox 63.75%, Alvis Roberts and Robert Baker 63.13%, Sylvia Fredericks and Marion Wood 47.50%.

E/W: Gillian Buganey and Daphne Priestley 60.94%, Marie Newell and Joanna Halioris 57.29%, Cynthia Gill and Noel Howard 55.21%.

Tuesday July 3, 14 players. Howell: Richard Levy and Peter Plunkett-Cole 60.42%, Amber and Stephen Fox 56.25%, Alison Savage and Marion Wood 54.17%.

Thursday July 5, 36 players. N/S: Mike Siford and Colin Tolley 63.66%, Richard Levy and Gillian Buganey 51.85%, Annie Mouton and Wendy Garland 51.39%. E/W: Katharina Goyer and Charles Aspden 55.09%, Peter Whyte and Joanna Halioris 54.86%, Gus and Astrid Gorissen 53.70%.

Saturday July 7, 32 players. N/S: Nigel McIvor and Kellie Potts 66.96%,  Stephen Fox and Barbara Box 54.17%, Sylvia Fredericks and Marion Wood 51.79%. E/W: Mike and Linda Siford 61.90%, Jennifer and Stuart Thorne 57.74%, Gillian Buganey and Daphne Priestley 54.46%.

Also making the news: