New board of directors at Nambucca golf

EIGHTY-EIGHT players tee off in a medley single stableford event that was won by Dave Mattacott at The Island Golf Course on Thursday.

From a 17 handicap, Dave had 40 points. Runner-up for division one was Peter Delaney (18 handicap) with 39 points. Division 2 was taken out by Peter Dawe (26), a round of 41 points, with Geoff Rackham (21) filling the next spot with a 39-point round. Others to show good form were Don Lavery 38, Jason Belt and Roy Louis rounds of 37.

Pins went to Bruce Berry, Geoff McCann, John Moore, Chris Thorndike, the pizza hole to Uri Ylinen, Michael Bennett, and Geoff Rackham finished a good day by picking up the money shot. Ball rundown went to 34 with 10 players to collect and they are Steve Frost, Paul Ryan, Joe Street, Col Wormleaton, Bruce Berry, Tim Standing, Ken Marriott, Phil Mander, Gavin Hughes, and last but not least Peter Moxon.

Saturday was a single stableford with a reduced field due to a few rain showers in the early morning. Leading all home was Allen O’Brien (7) 39 points. Drew Glasson (7) came in second, with 34 points, on a countback from Bruce Berry.

In B grade Paul McElhinney (13) put together a round of 38 points, to take the countback from Steve Misdale (Palm Beach) also off 13, Next best were Phil Frost, Dirk Prummel, Rod Robertson and Wayne English.

A rare touch of form from Geoff Poole (28) saw him win C grade with a 36-point round. Alvin Rapley (27) posted 35 with Graham Cass (23) lost the voucher in the countback along with Keith Elphick and Garry Beggs.

Pins went to Eddy Penrose at Sladdies hole 3, Don Atkinson took the jackpot lottery ticket hole, Phil Mander the 7th, Drew Glasson the 8th, Steve Frost the pizza, Garnie O’Brien the 15th, and our visitor covered travel expenses at the 18th with Steve Misdale taking the money shot.

Ball rundown went to 32 and seven will collect.

Congratulations to Neil Duffus on reaching the Genesis Golf Link Cup final to be played at the NSW course this week. Players from all over the State have been putting scores together all year and Neil will represent in C grade

A new board of directors was voted in at the AGM on Sunday with many changes taking place. Kerry McCoy takes on the president’s role, Linnie Street the vice-president, Andrew Johnston treasurer, and John Butler, Chris Tinson and Denys Tobin will fill the director places.