McCoy wins Island Golf Club championship

THE FINAL round of the men’s golf club championships did not turn up any surprises at The Island course.

Greg McCoy is once again the club champion after rounds of 79, 74, 75 and 79 (total 307). Greg, playing off a four handicap, held it together over the final 18 to come out on top. Picking up the second place was Bruce Berry (5 handicap) who finished on 317, just one ahead of Nathan Smith (1) 318. Drew Glasson faded away in the last two rounds to finish on 320. Nathan Smith took out the best nett with 284 from Phil Mander 288 and Graham Weary (11) 303.

Eddy Penrose (9) took out Saturday’s round with a nett 70. This also gave Eddy the Medal of Medal win for the 2016/2017 year. Congratulation to Mr Ed. Filling the runner-up spot on Saturday was Phil Mander 71. Best scratch for the day was Nathan Smith with a 77.

B grade champion is Rodney Robertson (14), after he put together rounds of 82, 84, 87 and 93 (346). Second in the grade was Dirk Prummel (14) 350, followed by Paul McElhinney (13) 355, and Phil Frost (13) 358. Taking out the nett was Trevor Hopkins 295, from Steve Frost 297.

For Saturday’s round Joe Street (16) had a 68 from Peter Bush (16) 70. Best off the stick score was Kevin Mulhall 87.

In C grade, Steve Doherty (20) took the champion’s spot with rounds of 89, 89, 94 and 96 (368). Playing off 20 also, Trevor Peck finished with 392 for second spot. Picking up the nett was Kerry McCoy with 306, from Garry Roach 316 and Shane Anderson 317.

On Saturday’s round in C grade, John Patterson showed it was no fluke on Thursday by backing it up with a 70 to get the win from Dale Hanson (25) 71 with Snowy Freeman the best scratch with 95.

Ball rundown for the day went to 76 with Rob Coneybear, Barrie Nicholson and Ted Beaton all to collect.

Nearest the pins for the round went to Ed Penrose, Don Atkinson, Rod Robertson, Paul McElhinney, Robert Steele, Jason Belt, while John Hopkins found his way to the money shot.

There were 83 starters on Thursday in the stableford event with Robert Steele (9) (Kooninda Waters) winner with 38 points. Trevor Hopkins (15) was runner-up with 37 points for division one.

John Patterson (34) had 37 points to start his purple patch. Nice to see Geoff Wilson (28) also 37 points. Ball rundown went to 33 with Martin Jones, Geoff Rackham, Chris Thorndike and Stu Johnston all to collect.

Pins went to John Hopkins, an eagle at the 3rd, Mark Blake the 5th, Maxine Townsend the 7th, Lyn Street the 8th, Chris Thorndike the pizza hole, Rob Steele the 15th, and the lucky Keith Elphick picked up the money shot.