Photos from the southern end of the shire

So now it’s all over … did you win?

You are either celebrating or commiserating, still partying or crashed out on the couch.

And just to tip you into overload, here is a final dose of Melbourne Cup Trivia:

The Melbourne Cup was first run on November 7, 1861 over a distance of two miles.

The winner was Archer with a field of 17. First prize was a gold watch and prize money was £170.

His was the slowest winning time yet recorded – three minutes and 52 seconds. The current record is held by 1990 winner Kingston Rule with a time of three minutes and 16.3 seconds.

The Cup was first presented to a winner in 1916 and it was first run on the first Tuesday in November in 1875.

Until next year!