Nambucca Golf Club Championship tight at halfway mark

SATURDAY was the second round of the championships for the men at The Island Golf Course with many dropping out due to the showers, but most of the front runners turned out.

Results: A grade Drew Glasson a 75 gross/67 nett, and Greg McCoy a 75/69 – as it turns out both are well in contention. Overall in the gross, Drew with a 77 and 75 (152) leads Greg 79 and 75 (153).

In B grade, Jeffery Morrison had an 82/66 with Rodney Robertson posting a 84/70 round to be runner-up.  Robbo takes the lead in B grade after posting an 82 and 84 (166). Paul McElhinney is next with 175, then Steve Frost 176 and Trevor Hopkins 178.

For the lower grade, Brett Thompson (Charlestown) 95/68 won the grade and Steve Doherty put together 89/70 to be runner-up. At this stage Steve is the front runner in C grade with two rounds of 89 for a total 178.

Ball rundown went to 76 with Bruce Berry the only one to collect. Pins went to Uri Ylinen, Greg McCoy the 7th and 15th, Col Wormleaton the 8th, Drew Glasson the 13th and Phil Mander the money shot.

Thursday’s round was a Two Person Ambrose with 87 starters and Peter Morriss and Greg McCoy took the honours with a handicap of 5.50 on their way to a 59.50 score. Phill Mander and Bruce Berry (4.50 handicap) had 60.50 to be runners-up, then Raimo Neuvonen and Uri Ylinen (9.75) on 61 to be the second runners-up.

Others to fire were David Bird and Trevor Hopkins 61.25, Ken Marriott and Denys Tobin 62, Steve Frost and Col Wormleaton 62.75 and Peter Moxon and John Slade 63.75.

Ball rundown went to 65.75 with just the one pair to collect – Bryan Ussher and Peter Farrell. Pins went to Peter Owen, John Slade at 5 and 13, Kel McGoldrick at 7, Peter Delaney the 8th, Trevor Hopkins at 15, and Bruce Berry the money shot at 18.

Nominations have now closed for the upcoming election with three candidates for the president’s position, two for the captain’s job, and three for the committee.

The annual general meeting will be held on Sunday November 19 at 10am.