Sea Eagles announce new coaching staff

Danny Doolan, Darren Hoffman, Tristan Hamilton-Giggins, Gary Jarrett, John Thaiday and Kade Spear
Danny Doolan, Darren Hoffman, Tristan Hamilton-Giggins, Gary Jarrett, John Thaiday and Kade Spear

THE Macksville Sea Eagles have finalised their coaching positions for the 2017 Tooheys New Group 2 season with the appointment of John Thaiday as their reserve grade coach, Darren Hoffman to coach their under 18s and Kade Spear as coach of their inaugural women’s league tag side.

Hoffman was involved as a trainer with the Eagles last season after extensive experience in Sydney, while Thaiday has recently moved to the area from Brisbane and comes to the club highly credentialled.

Spear has been a long time player for the club and has been involved in coaching the Bowra Juniors over the last few seasons.

First Grade coach Garry Jarrett has been supervising training for the club over the last month with support from trainer Tristan Hamilton-Giggins and the help of club life member Ritchie Donovan at Scotts Head.

Numbers have been good for the Eagles among both senior and under 18 players at training, but the club is still keen to sign any locals interested in being part of their 2017 season.

Training for the club is currently held on Tuesdays and Fridays at Macksville Park from 6pm.

The club is particularly keen to get a women's team for the new Group 2 competition this season and any women interested in being a part of this team are also welcome.

The club’s first hit out for the season is on Saturday at the Coffs Harbour 9s competition, while they will also be participating in Matthew Locke MG Charity match and have arranged a trial with the Macleay Valley Mustangs.


The highly anticipated Hoey Moey Tooheys Coffs Coast 9s competition will be contested at Geoff King Motors Oval on Saturday.

There will be three divisions: an under 18s, women’s league tag and first grade.

Teams competing include Macksville Sea Eagles, Bellingen Magpies, Coffs Harbour Comets, South Grafton Rebels, Sawtell Panthers, Port Macquarie Sharks, Wingham Tigers, Cudgen Hornets and North Tamworth Bears.

First games kick off at approximately 2pm.